Return to home page (of whole site)
Ordering Music
About Adlais
Contacting Adlais
Click here for an index of Adlais Music set in ABRSM, LCM & Trinity Music Exams
Return to Catalogue home page
View Index of new editions and new publications Return to Catalogue home page
Exercises and Sudies
View our scores for solo harp
View our scores for two harps
View our scores for flute and harp
view our scores for voice and harp
View our scores for Harp & Other Instrument
Browse the rest of our web site
Harps and Harpists
Lady Llanover
Web Site Designer


Find us on Facebook
Zitti, Zitti
Rondo on 'Zitti, Zitti, Piano, Piano' from Rossini's 'Barber of Seville'
Nicolas Charles Bochsa
ed. Isabelle Moretti
return to previous page

Cover image Work: Single work for solo harp
Catalogue No: Adlais 147
ISMN: 979-0-57032-201-5
Edition: 2012, A4 stapled
Suitable for: Grade 7 - 8 pedal harp
Price:: £12.00  Go to shop
Examination: LCM DipLCM in Performance (2011-2015)
Competition: USA International Harp Competition 2013
Stage 2 - Option choice Required Repertoire
Rondo 'Zitti, Zitti' N.C. Bochsa (1789 - 1856)

Ever aware of the popular market, Bochsa based his delightfully frothy little Rondo on the marvellously witty trio 'Zitti, zitti, piano, piano' from Rossini's 'Barber of Seville', based, in its turn, on the comedy by Beaumarchais. A commedia in two acts, Rossini's opera received its first performance in Rome in 1816, and despite being hissed on that occasion, it soon gained enormous popularity.

Bochsa was already living in London and may well have been present when the opera received its first London performances two years later.

The Trio comes from Act II. It is the dead of night, and the Count and Figaro are trying to carry off Rosina, so as to ensure her escape from the clutches of her fiancé, old Dr Bartolo - ostensibly her guardian!

Although Bochsa is largely known to today's harp world as a composer of harp studies, he was a prolific composer, a top-ranking virtuoso, and a teacher of note. One of his many aristocratic pupils was Maria Jane Williams of Aberpergwm, whose portrait with her Erard single-action harp graces the cover of this publication. She almost certainly played 'Zitti, Zitti', but more importantly, she was the dedicatee of a major work by her teacher. Published, like the present work, in Paris, Bochsa's 'La Tempête' is dedicated to her. With her sister, Ann, she was also the dedicatee of John Thomas's 'Minstrel's Adieu to his Native Land', though this was composed thirty years later (July 1852).

Maria Jane's portrait, part of a private collection and reproduced by gracious permission of the owner, is by Merthyr Tydfil-born Welsh artist Penry Williams (1802-1855) It was exhibited at the Royal Academy in 1822 (no. 565).

'Zitti, Zitti' has been edited by Isabelle Moretti, professor of harp at the Paris Conservatoire, and is published for the first time since the 1820s.



Front cover of the score

Sample of the music