Return to home page (of whole site)
Ordering Music
About Adlais
Contacting Adlais
Click here for an index of Adlais Music set in ABRSM, LCM & Trinity Music Exams
Return to Catalogue home page
View Index of new editions and new publications Return to Catalogue home page
Exercises and Sudies
View our scores for solo harp
View our scores for two harps
View our scores for flute and harp
view our scores for voice and harp
View our scores for Harp & Other Instrument
Browse the rest of our web site
Harps and Harpists
Lady Llanover
Web Site Designer


Find us on Facebook
1st Movement from Suite in C Minor (BWV 997)
JS Bach
arr. Angharad Evans
return to previous page

Cover image Work: Part work for solo harps
Catalogue No: Adlais 128
ISMN: 979-0-57032-116-2
Edition: 2007 , A4 stapled
Suitable for: Grade 5, Pedal Harp
Price:: £5.50  Go to shop
Examination: LCM Grade 5 List B (2014-2016)

ANDANTE (Preludio) is the first movement of J S Bach's Suite in C minor (BWV 997). Although this Suite is nowadays most often played on the lute, it was probably intended to be played on the now obsolete gut-strung harpsichord (Lauten-werk), though it may (like BWV 1006A) have been played on the triple harp. Bach owned two lute-harpsichords which are mentioned in the 1750 inventory of his estate, but according to contemporary sources, although the instrument sounded like the lute, it had the serious disadvantage of not being able to reproduce the dynamic gradations of either lute or harp. The wide range (2nd octave E flat to 6th octave C) and expressive possibilities of this movement make it ideally suited to performance on the harp, and phrasing and suggested dynamic gradations have been added in the present concert harp edition. An Urtext version, completed with Fuga, Sarabande, Gigue and Double is in preparation (August 2007).

Front cover of the score

Sample of the music