Return to home page (of whole site)
Ordering Music
About Adlais
Contacting Adlais
Click here for an index of Adlais Music set in ABRSM, LCM & Trinity Music Exams
Return to Catalogue home page
View Index of new editions and new publications Return to Catalogue home page
Exercises and Sudies
View our scores for solo harp
View our scores for two harps
View our scores for flute and harp
view our scores for voice and harp
View our scores for Harp & Other Instrument
Browse the rest of our web site
Harps and Harpists
Lady Llanover
Web Site Designer


Find us on Facebook
Cwlwm Cymreig
A Welsh Knot ~ Suite for Harp

Ann Griffiths
return to previous page

Cover image Work: Single work for solo harp
Catalogue No: Adlais 024
ISMN: 979-0-57032-051-6
Edition: 2005, A4 stapled
Suitable for: Grade 5-8, Lever or Pedal Harp
Price:: £8.00  Go to shop
Examination: LCM Grade 5 List C (2014-2016)
See all Adlais Publications by Ann Griffiths

In 1978 and 1979, Ann Griffiths worked in collaboration with French musicologist André Schaefer on the ap Huw Manuscript of 1613. This famous Anglesey manuscript, still after almost four hundred years not completely satisfactorily transcribed, begins with 24 Clymau Cytgerdd ('Knots' of Harmony) which are followed by pieces in a unique tablature and a cryptic table of ornaments, with what the English poet Thomas Gray called 'Names enough to choke you'. Taking her inspiration from the titles of Robert ap Huw's pieces and reinterpreting his ornaments in twentieth-century style, Ann Griffiths has created a Harp Suite which, Janus-like, looks both backward to the past and forward to the future.

Front cover of the score

Sample of the music